Respecting Your Time

1 Dec

What do you do when you feel you are being taken advantage of and always working your business? Working your business is important, but didn’t you get in this for the time you can be with your family?

I remember when I started my home based business I thought my Family is first and always will be. And then what happened? My business needed to grow. I needed to nurture it, feed it, show it off as if it was one of my babies. Over a period of time my intention of God, Family and Work became Work, Family and God or at times Work, Work and more work, I started to resent myself, my business and my customers. I did not want to burnout.

Owning your own business is not the luxury some people think it is. Separating family and business can be challenging. I have to set up strict boundaries with myself. I let my customers/clients know I am available Monday to Friday 9 am – 5 pm and later times and weekends are by appointment only. I have family too.

All businesses have store hours. Make sure you set some “policies” in place for you and your customers.

  1. Set up your work schedule as if you are working in an office. Are you 9 am to 5 pm? 8am to 3 pm? Are you 6 pm – 10 pm because you are working during the day and doing the parties at night? Either way have the time set aside for your business.
  2. Money is important, but is missing your child’s first baseball game less important? Understand why you started your  business.
  3. Provide your corporate customer service number to your customers. Many companies offer customer support. I mean you can’t be around all the time. Don’t make yourself feel that you are pushing your customers off to a person over the phone. They will appreciate that you are taking care of their account by kindly offering them as many options as you can.
  4. If working with a downline, make sure they understand when you are available and set up appointments for one on one trainings, assisting them signing someone up. You want them to know you are there for them, however time has to honored.

People schedule time with me for help. Things do happen and people will miss the appointment. But there are times when they just don’t respect your time and energy you put out to help them.  Do you think I will jump when they say jump again? Most likely not. My time; as well; as theirs is very important and I value that. Once you show them this is how you operate your business. They will more than likely follow your example.

By applying some of these basic tips you will make your life easier and more manageable. 

Good luck,

2 Responses to “Respecting Your Time”

  1. MaryJane Sukeforth December 1, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

    Excellent advice, Debbie. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

